
If a simultaneous infringement occurs the umpire awards possession to the team that was last in
possession of the ball, where the ball was when play stopped. 

Any player from that team may take the ball for the restart of play. It does not have to be the player
who actually had the ball last. 

If it is in a team’s goal circle, the GS or GA may shoot for goal.
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The good old toss up! It’s gone!
A toss up was previously used if an infringement occurred simultaneously. However, due to improved
umpire education and training, the use of toss ups has become much less frequent and umpires are
instead, correctly, penalising the infringement that occurred first. 

This means that the skill of the toss up has been lost for both players and umpires.

NEW RULE IN ACTION:

WHAT NOW?

Please note this is different from a situation
where possession is called as a clarification
when two players gain possession of the
ball in quick succession.

Because the new action only applies in the same situations where a toss up would have
been awarded under the previous rules, it is expected that it will not be used frequently. 

DIFFERENT FROM
POSSESSION
CLARIFICATION

NOTE:
We expect this to be used as
often as we would’ve seen a
toss up - so not very often!

Two opposing players
gain possession of the
ball simultaneously with
one or both hands. 

At a centre pass, two opposing
players enter the centre third 
before the whistle and one or
both touch or catch the ball. 

Any other mutual
infringement.

Some moments it might be used are:
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