
EXPLAINER VIDEO

It is  easier for the umpire to assess whether the ball has left the player’s hands   when time is
blown and signalled, than to assess whether the ball has passed wholly through the ring.

If the shot is unsuccessful there’s only
two reasons that a penalty pass will be
awarded for an infringement after the
ball has left their hands:

BALL HAS LEFT HANDS = GOAL

Buzzer beaters! We all love them, but how do you know if the goal counts?
In the past, the ball had to pass completely through the ring before the whistle to be counted. 

Now, if the whistle to end play or to hold time is blown after the ball has left the hands of the
shooter & the shot is successful, the goal will be scored. 

If the whistle to end play or to hold time is blown after
the ball has left the hands of the shooter & the shot is
successful, the goal will be scored. 

THE DETAILS

WHY HAS THIS CHANGED?

INTERFERENCE WITH
GOALPOST
If a defending player has caused the
goalpost to move which interferes with
the shot.

DOWNWARD
DEFELCTION
If a defending player deflects the ball on
its downwards path towards the ring.

In the situation where the penalty has been
awarded and then timekeeper signals for
time, the umpire will blow the whistle for
time and then advise the players that the
penalty can be taken.

GOAL AFTER WHISTLE

If this occurs at the end of a period
of play, play will be extended for
the penalty pass to be taken
including any subsequent
infringements at that
penalty pass.
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